Chaulk Joins Kalamazoo As Assistant Coach (VIDEO)

By Tommy Schoegler
By Eric Dutkiewicz

July 30, 2013 Updated Jul 30, 2013 at 7:25 PM EDT

KALAMAZOO, Mich. (incnow.tv) - Former Fort Wayne Komets captain and player/coach Colin Chaulk has been hired by Kalamazoo K-Wings as an assistant.

Chaulk retired from his playing days in April after 15 professional seasons, including 10 with the Komets.

“Colin has shown that he knows how to win championships and has done so in a leadership role,” K-Wings general manager Jim Burlew said in a statement released by the franchise. “He has plenty of knowledge and passion for the sport of hockey that he now will pass on to our players."


Chaulk will serve under Wings director of operations/head coach Nick Bootland, who is in his fifth season as a head coach. In a phone interview, Chaulk says they formed an instant connection in a recent conversation they had.

"We pursued him for this role because of all the intangibles he brings,” Bootland said in the statement. “Colin has always been a student of the game, which is evident with the accolades he has earned as a top defensive-forward many times throughout his career.”


Chaulk says the Komets never interviewed him about the head coaching vacancy ultimately filled by Gary Graham. He adds that because no assistant coaching position was open when he retired, he sought other opportunities.

He and his family will remain in Fort Wayne despite the hire, Chaulk says.

The Komets will play the K-Wings 14 times--6 at home and 8 away--in the 2013-14 season.

Komets vs. Kalamazoo

  • Sun., Jan. 5
  • Sun., Jan. 12
  • Fri., Feb. 7
  • Sun., Feb. 9
  • Wed., Feb. 26
  • Sun., Mar. 22

    Komets at Kalamazoo

  • Fri., Nov. 29
  • Sat.. Dec. 14
  • Sat. Jan. 11
  • Wed. Jan. 15
  • Sat. Feb. 15
  • Wed Mar. 5
  • Sat. Mar. 8
  • Sun. Mar. 25




  • What are your thoughts CLICK HERE to leave us a "Your2Cents” comment.

    Want to be in the know for the next weather event, the next school closing or the next big breaking news story?

    TextCaster alerts from Indiana's NewsCenter are your defining source for instant information delivered right to your cell phone and email. It's free, easy and instant. Sign-Up Now!

    Powered by Summit City Chevrolet



    © Copyright 2014, A Granite Broadcasting Station. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

    To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.